Two Down: roasted veggies and lemon chicken

Well we’re two down and almost to the weekend. Keeping it simple today because it’s freezing and I wanted nothing more than to curl up on the couch with a good book and some coffee. What I’m doing at this exact moment with a laptop in lieu of a book.

But first, lets enjoy this glorious heap of cherry tomatoes:

img_3101

They are so yummy, I couldn’t stop munching on them while I was cooking.

But back to tonight’s dinner. What is simpler and easier than chopping up a bunch of fresh veggies and throwing them into the oven?

And so, I give you roasted veggies and chicken.

No real recipe on this one. I quite literally pulled a bunch of tasty looking vegetables out of my fridge, chopped them up, drizzled them with olive oil and set them cooking. A perfect, healthy go-to for a lazy night. Maybe it doesn’t beat frozen pizza but…that broccoli was pretty killer.

Roasted Vegetables(/fruits):

broccoli florets
sliced yellow and red bell pepper
sliced or diced tomato (any variety)
carrots
red onion, sliced
1 Tbsp-ish salt (I didn’t really measure on this one, so go with your gut)

Roasted Chicken:

2 chicken breasts cut into large pieces
salt
pepper
basil
thyme
chili powder
lemon juice

So here’s the thing about my cooking: I start out alright, measuring, chopping perfectly proportional bits of vegetables, then somewhere along the way I throw that all out the window. When it comes to seasonings in my house, it’s a free-for-all.

My best guesstimate is that I typically use about a tablespoon of each seasoning, adjusting the “measurements,” aka the number of shakes I give the spice jar, depending on how I’m feeling that day. Today, I went a little heavy on the basil, a little light on the chili powder, and added a nice spritz of lemon.

Cooking:

FIRST: preheat the oven to 475 degrees. Next, chop/slice/dice then arrange the vegetables in an even layer on a cookie sheet. Drizzle lightly with olive oil, then sprinkle some salt across the top, and if you’re anything like me, you’ll enjoy the tiniest bit of white granulated sugar sprinkled on the onions. (It will take more salt than you think). Now this guy is ready to be popped in the oven for 20 minutes.

Now take the pieces of chicken and place them in an even layer on a pan or in a skillet. I chose the skillet tonight. Top with seasonings, lemon juice, and a teensy bit of olive oil. Now pop this guy in the oven for the last 15 minutes left on the veggie timer.

Once everything is done, take it out of the oven and enjoy.

Tips:

  1. this is the exact method I used, and somehow the broccoli turned out to be amazing. I never thought I would say those words.
  2. sweet potato would really be good to add to the veggies – or diced acorn squash instead.
  3. I probably overdid it on the tomatoes, try for a few more non-acidic ingredients

 

img_3110

 

Leave a Reply

